National Health   Home  >   Our Work  >   Mission Areas  >   National Health  >   Research and Applications Program Area

Research and Applications Program Area

Research and Applications Program Area Manager
Sheri Lewis
Phone: 240-228-7604
E-mail: Sheri.Lewis@jhuapl.edu

Health Surveillance

Health Surveillance

Global health stability is possible through the research, development, and implementation of advanced, sustainable technological solutions to predict and detect emerging and reemerging diseases, in all environments, to enable informed decision making.

Health Surveillance Program Manager
Martina Siwek, Ph.D.
Phone: 240-592-0862
E-mail: Martina.Siwek@jhuapl.edu

Health Surveillance Assistant Program Manager
Jeffrey Freeman, Ph.D.
Phone: 240-592-0135
E-mail: Jeffrey.Freeman@jhuapl.edu

Systems Biology

Systems Biology

The delivery of precision care can be achieved through the linkage of next-generation technologies to clinical practice and the deployment of novel solutions to predict and combat emerging infectious diseases by understanding and exploiting the biological, environmental, and behavioral determinants of health.

Systems Biology Program Manager
Joshua Wolfe, Ph.D.
Phone: 240-228-4734
E-mail: Joshua.Wolfe@jhuapl.edu

Neurological Health and Human Performance

Neurological Health and Human Performance

Through greater understanding of the structure and function of the human brain and the neural basis of health, we can develop technology to improve cognitive performance, make strides against neurobiological disease and injury, and develop novel brain–computer interfaces that will transform how we interact with the world around us.

Neurological Health and Human Performance Program Manager
Monique Beaudoin, Ph.D.
Phone: 240-592-3034
E-mail: Monique.Beaudoin@jhuapl.edu

Biomechanics and Injury Mitigation Systems

Biomechanics and Injury Mitigation Systems

We can improve human safety, health, and performance through innovative, multidisciplinary solutions by analyzing the complex causes and mechanisms of injury.

Biomechanics and Injury Mitigation Systems Program Manager
Katy Carneal
Phone: 240-228-5737
E-mail: Katy.Carneal@jhuapl.edu

Biomechanics and Injury Mitigation Systems Assistant Program Manager
David Drewry III
Phone: 240-228-6228
E-mail: David.G.Drewry@jhuapl.edu

Biomechanics and Injury Mitigation Systems Assistant Program Manager
Quang T. Luong
Phone: 240-228-9698
E-mail: Quang.Luong@jhuapl.edu